Thursday, 30 January 2020

Brexit ~ Signed and sealed

On Wednesday 29 January 2020, Sir Tim Barrow, the United Kingdom's Permanent Representative to the European Union presented to the European Council the Instrument of Ratification for the Withdrawal Agreement. This was the final step by which the UK indicated consent to be bound by the Agreement which is a treaty in international law.

The European Parliament gave its approval to the Withdrawal Agreement - 621 votes in favour, 49 against, 13 abstentions - Brexit deal approved by the European Parliament.

The European Council decided
to use written procedure to conclude the agreement on behalf of the EU. The withdrawal agreement will enter into force upon the UK's exit from the EU, on 31 January 2020 at midnight (Brussels time) - 2300 GMT.

The European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020 gives force, within the domestic legal systems of the UK, to the Withdrawal Agreement.

On 28 January, a Separation Agreement was signed with EEA and EFTA States to protect citizens’ rights and resolve wider separation issues when the UK leaves the EU

Brexit - the final throes - 24 January 2020

No comments:

Post a Comment