Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Draft Withdrawal Agreement - November 2018 - No.8 - Protocol on the Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus

The United Kingdom operates two "sovereign bases" in Cyprus - Akrotiri and Dhekelia.   Earlier this year, a Parliamentary Select Committee noted - "The situation on Cyprus is further complicated by the existence of two Sovereign Base Areas (SBAs) on the island, remnants of its pre-1960 status as a UK Crown Colony. The Bases are British Overseas Territories administered by the Ministry of Defence, which are not part of the European Union.  Dhekelia — also known as the Eastern Sovereign Base Area or ESBA — straddles the Green Line and contains two crossing points for movements of goods and people between the two parts of Cyprus."

Whilst the bases
may be "remnants" of pre-1960 (independence) status, they continue to be of strategic importance as this article in New Internationalist 1 May 2017 makes clear. 

The Protocol relating to the Sovereign bases is at pages 476 to 495 of the draft agreement and contains 13 Articles.  The Protocol relating to the Sovereign Base Areas in Cyprus, with the exception of Article 11 thereof, will apply as from the end of the transition period.

Draft Agreement on the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community, as agreed at negotiators' level on 14 November 2018

There are also "Explainers" from the European Union - Brexit negotiations: What is in the Withdrawal Agreement and from the UK government see Withdrawal Agreement Explainer.

Article 1 - General Provisions

Article 2 - Customs territory of the Union - The Sovereign Base Areas, taking into account the Treaty of Establishment, shall be part of the customs territory of the Union. For this purpose, the provisions of Union law on customs and the common commercial policy, including provisions of Union law providing for customs controls of specific goods or for specific purposes, shall apply to and in the Sovereign Base Areas.

Article 3 - Taxation

Article 4 - Duty Relief

Article 5 - Social Security

Article 6 - Agriculture, Fisheries and Veterinary and Phytosanitary rules

Article 7 - Checks on persons crossing the external borders of the sovereign base areas

Article 8 - Cooperation

Article 9 - Specialised Committee - (created by Article 165)

Article 10 - Joint Committee

Article 11 - Operation of Article 6 of Protocol 3 during the transition period

Article 12 - Supervision and Enforcement
Article 13 - Responsibility for Implementation

Other links:

Treaty of Establishment - i.e. establishing the Republic of Cyprus in 1960

Britain's Treasure Islands - Akrotiri and Dhekelia

British Forces - Dhekelia

British Forces - Akrotiri


No comments:

Post a comment